Muslim Ban

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh (Peace, Blessings & Mercy of Allah be upon You).

This statement is being issued on the 30th of January 2017 and supersedes all previous statements on the subject.

Wifaqul Ulama agrees with the opinions expressed by MCB,Ed Miliband, Baroness Sayeeda Warsi,Caroline Lucas MP and many others who are troubled by the executive order signed by US President Trump banning the citizens of seven majority-Muslim countries from entry into the United States.

I believe that this ban goes against basic human values of trust, compassion, tolerance and decency. Many from President Trump’s own Republican party such as Sens. John McCain of Arizona and Lindsey Graham of South Carolina have also opposed it as they believe that it will prove to be an impediment in the “fight against terrorism”. I urge our Prime Minister Theresa May to stand up for our fundamental British values and for her Government to take a much stronger stance in ensuring that this executive order is reversed, promptly. I will be joining the protest in front of 10 Downing Street and I urge all Muslims particularly our Scholars and community leaders to stand with all those who are united against injustice.

Demo will take place today on Monday, the 30th of January 2017 in front of 10 Downing Street at 18:00. I hope to see you all there in London or at a location close to you.

(Imam) Suliman Gani

Demos throughout United Kingdom

  • Aberdeen – 6pm Castlegate
  • Aberystwyth – 6pm Aberystwyth Bandstand, Marine Terrace
  • Bangor – 7pm at the clock
  • Birmingham – 6pm Victoria Square
  • Brighton – 6pm Town Hall
  • Bristol – 6pm College Green
  • Broadstairs – 6:30pm outside Broadstairs Tory Office
  • Cardiff – 6:30pm by the Anuerin Bevan statue
  • Cambridge – 5pm Great St Mary’s, the University Church
  • Cheltenham – 7pm Promenade
  • Colchester – 6pm Town Hall
  • Dundee – 6pm Dundee City Square
  • Derby – 5pm Council House
  • Edinburgh – 6pm The Mound by the National gallery
  • Exeter – 6pm Bedford Square
  • Falmouth – 5pm The Moor
  • Glasgow – 6pm George Square
  • Hastings – 6pm Robertson Street
  • Hull – 5pm Queen Victoria Square
  • Isle of Wight – 6pm Newport
  • Leeds – 5:30 Dortmund Square
  • Leicester – 5:30pm Haymarket memorial Clock Tower
  • Liverpool – 6pm St George’s Hall
  • Newcastle – 5:30pm Grey’s Monument
  • Manchester – 6pm Albert Square
  • Maidstone – 6pm Jubilee Square
  • Nottingham – 5:30pm Market Square
  • Oxford – 5:30pm Carfax Tower
  • Plymouth – 5:30 pm Charles Cross police station
  • Portsmouth – 7pm Portsmouth Guildhall
  • Preston – 6pm Harris Library
  • Sheffield – 6pm Town Hall
  • St Andrews – 7pm St Andrews Student Union
  • Swansea – 6pm Castle Square
  • Totnes – 6pm Mini roundabout bottom of Fore Street
  • Whitney – 6pm Market Square
  • York – 5pm St Helen’s Square